Environmentally Sustainable Workplaces

Key Focus Areas of Environmentally Sustainable Workplaces

LEED, SMaRT, level and FSC
Third parties provide independent verification of environmental standards that are transparent and universally accepted. Participation and accreditation by third parties regulates standards and deepens organizational commitment to sustainable design and manufacturing, positioning the organization as a trusted brand amongst consumers.

Knoll's Dallas Showroom

Knoll’s Dallas Showroom

LEED Certification.The U.S. Green Building Council’s (USGBC) Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED®) green building rating system is the accepted benchmark in North America for the design, construction and operation of high performance green buildings. LEED offers a whole-building approach to sustainability by recognizing performance in five key areas of human and environmental health: 1) sustainable site development; 2) water savings; 3) energy efficiency; 4) materials selection; and 5) indoor environmental quality.

Buildings have a tremendous impact on the environment, economy, health of humans and wildlife as well as human productivity. There are numerous benefits to building sustainably. Green buildings help to improve the health of those who work and live in them; are less expensive to maintain; enhance building and organizational marketability; and potentially increase occupant productivity due to the absence of toxic chemicals in the building materials. Read the LEED FAQs


SMaRT© Consensus Sustainable Product Standard. SMaRT (Sustainable Materials Rating Technology) is a set of consensus-based, quantified and global sustainable product standards that cover 80 percent of the world’s products, including building materials, fabric, flooring and carpet. SMaRT is to products what LEED is t o buildings. SMaRT products prevent unlawful greenwash. Read the SMaRT© FAQs

Knoll SMaRT Products

Knoll SMaRT Gold products

Level™. level is the certification program for the Business and Institutional Furniture Manufacturer’s Association’s (BIFMA) furniture sustainability standard. BIFMA has established level™ as a common framework against which to evaluate the environmental and social responsibility of a variety of products. level is part of BIFMA’s ongoing development of voluntary product and industry standards that support safe, healthy and sustainable workplaces. Read the Knoll and level™


Knoll level 3 certified products

FSC® Certified Wood Standard. FSC, which stands for Forest Stewardship Council, is the international standard setting body for defining

and measuring a well-managed forest and providing traceability through chain-of-custody certification. FSC is the only wood certification

Knoll Reff Wood Edge

Knoll Reff Wood Edge

standard recognized by the U.S. Green Building Council. Through our partnership with Knoll, bauhaus has been affiliated with FSC since 1995. Unlike other wood certifiers, FSC is committed to actively promoting sustainability and upholds the most stringent standards by requiring applicants to meet demanding prerequisites, not just options, to achieve certification. Bauhaus clients can be assured that when they purchase Knoll furnishings, they are purchasing FSC certified wood is assured that is manufactured using legally harvested wood from forests managed to ensure high conservation values and protect the social equity of people living in the region. Read the LEED FAQs

A modern workplace is an environmentally sustainable workplace. The above third party certification programs play an essential role in creating a cleaner and greener planet.